Date of adoption: February 6, 2011
Date of interim amendment(s): June 24, 2014
Date of last amendment: January 17, 2016

Committee Name
The current name of the Committee is the ACM Committee for Computing Education in Community Colleges (CCECC). The Standing Committee was initially chartered in 1991 as the "ACM Two-Year College Education Committee" (TYCEC) and in 2011, the name was revised to emphasize computing education. (Herein referred to as Committee.)

Official Language
The official language for Committee business is English.

Global Mission

The ACM CCECC serves and supports community and technical college educators in all aspects of computing education.

Committee Purpose
Officially chartered in 1991 as a standing committee of the ACM Education Board, the ACM CCECC is concerned with computing education at associate-degree granting colleges in the United States and similar post-secondary institutions throughout the world. The Committee engages in curriculum and assessment development, community building, as well as advises on public policy and advocacy in service to this sector of higher education.

Committee Composition

The ACM CCECC is comprised of volunteer officers and members, usually consisting of three to five members, including officers and excluding individuals holding Emeritus status. The leadership offices of the Committee are the Chair, Vice-Chair, and Immediate Past Chair (when applicable). The Immediate Past Chair serves in a consultant and ex-officio capacity for a one-year term.

Officers serve for an initial two-year term and may be renewed/re-elected for an additional two terms (a total of 6 years). A simple majority of the current Committee members elect the Chair with agreement from the ACM Education Board Chair. The Committee Chair appoints the Vice-Chair. Members are eligible to hold an office after serving on the Committee for at least two years.

Members are appointed and reappointed at the discretion of the Committee Chair in consultation with the Vice-Chair. Members serve an initial one-year term, with mutual option of reappointment. Subsequent terms of member service are for two years with a maximum of three additional terms (a total of 7 years).

Unless filling a vacancy, Committee appointments begin on July 1 in conformity with the start of the ACM fiscal year. Term limits comply with the ACM Education Board policy, which calls for a limit of three consecutive terms in the same position.

Members receive no compensation for their volunteer service, but will receive reimbursement for reasonable travel and other expenses, as approved by the Committee Chair and in conformity with ACM regulations. Resignation from the Committee must be in writing and received by the Committee Chair in a timely fashion. A Committee member, including the Chair and Vice-Chair, may be said to be held in “no confidence” based on a two-thirds vote of the remaining Committee members. Any current Committee member may initiate a vote of “no confidence.”

The Committee may decide, by two-thirds vote of the current Committee members, to confer upon a past Committee member the designation of “Emeritus.” Emeritus status shall be permanent once conferred. Individuals holding Emeritus status shall provide respected and honored guidance to the Committee as needed.

Charter Amendments
In consultation with the ACM Education Board, the Committee may amend its charter by a two-thirds vote of the current members.