Computer Science 2017


The ACM Committee for Computing Education in Community Colleges (CCECC) is updating its 2009 Guidelines for Associate-Degree Transfer Curriculum in Computer Science. The update is based on ACM's CS2013 curriculum guidelines and includes contemporary cybersecurity content.

This update is currently in progress.

The following knowledge areas (KAs) are included:

  • Algorithms and Complexity (AL)
  • Architecture and Organization (AR)
  • Computational Science (CN)
  • Cybersecurity (CYB)
  • Discrete Structures (DS)
  • Graphics and Visualization (GV)
  • Human-Computer Interaction (HCI)
  • Information Management (IM)
  • Networking and Communications (NC)
  • Operating Systems (OS)
  • Parallel and Distributed Computing (PD)
  • Platform-based Development (PBD)
  • Programming Languages (PL)
  • Software Development Fundamentals (SDF)
  • Software Engineering (SE)
  • System Fundamentals (SF)
  • Social Issues and Professional Practice (SP)